Oliver Hazard

The story of Waterville, OH indie-folk trio Oliver Hazard – ​​Michael Belazis (vocals, guitar), Griffin McCulloch (vocals, keys) and Devin East (vocals, guitar) – is the digital age’s version of classic band mythmaking. One  member of the band came home to Ohio after leading camping trips in California and decided to make an album with two childhood friends. They won a Facebook raffle to record one song at a studio. Instead, they played their whole album straight through once, resulting in their debut LP 34 N River (2018). The Fader called the album a “folk-pop  masterpiece” and the band was booked at Bonnaroo and Mountain Jam shortly thereafter. In 2019, the band released their 6 track EP, The Flood, which Billboard  called a “souvenir.” This brings the band to their sophomore, self-titled album (July 2023), featuring music from the band’s recent Northern Lights EP, plus five additional songs.

The sound of their upcoming 10 track LP, produced by Jacquire King (Of Monsters and Men, Kings of Leon), blends delicate arrangements with sturdy melodies. The LP is the work of 3 individual singers, songwriters and multi-instrumentalists, who share an organic connection in the craft — sensibilities that yield music that’s harmonic, haunting and also ambitious and surprising. “This album feels different than anything we’ve done in the past. We’re very simple  people. I think the album reflects that, and I hope it captures something you probably can’t describe yourself, but that speaks to you.” Dev says.